WAG RECAP TO CONCLUDE AURA

A funny thing happened on the way to wrapping up AURA‘s coverage with December 2012. A little thing called the WeAreGlamily mini tour.

Given the choice of keeping this tribute magazine neat and tidy with a 2012 close or closing the issue with this dramatic, colorful Trespassing finale, I’ve decided to conclude AURA on this major high note—the final chapter of Adam’s historic Era 2. No other ending seemed complete.

So whether you attended one or more of the mini tour concerts or watched each show vicariously on blogs and video sites, you probably have an anecdote, a moment, to share.

Don’t over think this. What was your reaction when you first saw the Trespassing stage? Did you cry when Adam sang “Stay”? Were you thrilled the first time—and every time—non-English-speaking audiences sang the final “Broken English” for Adam? Did you love when Adam joked with Japanese fans about the “banana”? Did you gasp when Adam sang “Time for Miracles”?

Keep it short. 50-100 words. Send one memory or a bunch. From one concert or several. Send a few tweets to complete your thought and I’ll piece them together.

Want to send photos with or without a story? How about pictures showing the massive crowds. Or fans decked out in their Trespassing best. Maybe bundled up waiting in line in below freezing temps. Please send 1 or 2 4×5 jpegs approx 1MB or 2MB. Make sure you include: photographer’s name/hometown, names/hometowns of people shown (in your group), city and name of venue, date. NOTE: My thinking here is to mention everyone’s name to avoid hurt feelings. If you want to leave out everyone’s names at least say where you’re all from to underscore how international this fandom is.

DEADLINE: Friday, March 29

A recap of the concert cities may be helpful:

  • Seoul, South Korea
  • Tokyo (3 shows), Kanazawa, Nagoya and Osaka, Japan
  • Shanghai, China
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Singapore
  • Jakarta, Indonesia
  • Minsk, Belarus
  • Moscow, Russia
  • Kiev, Ukraine
  • St. Petersburg, Russia
  • Helsinki, Finland

Can’t wait to create this WAG mosaic of our thoughts, feelings and images. I envision it as being a colorful, emotional “exclamation point” to our tribute to Adam. One final expression of the magic, the joy, the goodness, the aura that surrounds this unassuming, fierce and beautiful man. The treasure we call ADAM.

Thank you.

Alice

5 thoughts on “WAG RECAP TO CONCLUDE AURA

  1. body{font-family: Geneva,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;background-color: #ffffff;color: black;}Alice – a few thoughts on the past several months of Adam’s appearances.  I find it fascinating that after 4+ years as a Glambert, there are still so many times that I am left breathless or brought to tears by Adam’s performances.   When Adam was invited to perform at Cyndi’s Lauper’s Home for the Holidays concert, I was ready for something special.  When Adam was joined on stage by Cyndi and they sang Mad World, it was like a gift from heaven.  I immediately realized that this song needed to be recorded by this duet to support the Forty to None charity.  What more perfect way to raise funds for this organization that provides homes to the homeless LGBT community.  I am still hoping this will happen. When Adam first sang his version of Rhianna’s Stay, I wondered how it must feel to have another artist take a song and make it so obviously their own.  The lyrics of the song and the emotion that Adam put into it seemed so perfect that I must have listened to the performance 100 times. I could not get enough.  I now feel like the song is Adam’s and Rhianna is attempting to cover an Adam Lambert song.This takes me back to the first time that Adam performed 20th Century Boy.  As a young teen, I was completely obsessed with T-Rex and I remember sneaking out of bed one night to watch the Saturday Night concerts that used to play at midnight.  When I saw Marc Bolen and heard this song, it was all that I could talk about.  My mother could not figure out what I was talking about, since she did not know that I was up at midnight watching rock concerts.  When I got to hear Adam perform the song live during the Glam Nation tour, I became so emotional, I ended up in a puddle on the floor, sobbing hysterically.  Imagine what a sight I was, at my age. Throughout my life, I have been a person who loves change, surprises and I get excited about what might be.  I love to dream and imagine.  Adam has given me so much to look forward to.  I have no idea what to expect next and that is the best thing about Adam.  I can always count on him to take me to those magical and unexpected places.  Lisa FowlerFlorida Glambs LeaderTallahassee, FL

  2. AURA A Tribute Magazine talking about the beautiful connection between Adam Lambert and his passionate fans. I am so proud to be a part of this spectacular publication ❤

    Bellina

  3. Alice, Well that promo was beautifully written!! All I can say about the WAG mini tour is how immensely proud I am to be a Glambert. To see the adoration of fans worldwide is so gratifying. Adam has crossed so many boundaries and Tresspassed into our lives thus changing many of us forever. I just want to hug him and say, “Well done sweet Addy, well done!”

    Marilyn

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. I’ve never in my whole life been so proud to call myself a Glambert. Since becoming a fan, I’ve made friends all over the world. People who I would never have met in person if it weren’t for Adam Lambert. I know he has fans worldwide and is adored everywhere he performs. I’ve done some crazy things along this journey for Adam, and I would do it all again.

    • Hi Deb,
      It’s so true. Adam has affected us in so many ways. Gotten under our skin, into our wiring. Just this morning I was nervous about calling the dr. Wanted to avoid it, put it off but knew I needed medical attention. Suddenly I realized I was thinking about Adam. How would he handle the situation? He would confront it directly, without dodging or flinching. Beyond brave. So I called the dr. expecting the worst and everything’s fine. Adam, so grateful you’re in my life.

Leave a Reply

